Day 9: Beluga Lentil & Asparagus Salad

Day 9 of Blue Apron may have been one of my favorites yet – Beluga Lentil & Asparagus salad, with Piave cheese and a soft boiled egg.

This week, I did 3 things that I haven’t ever done before!

  1. I soft boiled an egg! This wasn’t actually very hard, you just don’t boil it for so long. I just hadn’t ever done it before!
  2. Blanche asparagus. This was a new technique for me but I liked the result. It’s just a fancy word for quickly boiling produce and then putting immediately in a bath of iced water. The result was asparagus that was crispy on the outside, bright gree, and nice and softer in the middle.
  3. I cooked lentils! Again, not hard, but I had never done it before. I always just buy them pre-cooked!

As I’ve mentioned before, Blue Apron loves to use lemons. This salad was tossed in a lemon-dijon vinegarette which gave it just a tiny kick. The egg was split open on top and added some substance to it, and the Piave cheese was nice too – a bit nutty, semi-hard, and slightly tangy. It’s actually a cow’s milk cheese from Italy, named after the Piave river.

Their version: 

2P_033115_1

My version: 

IMG_1407

Overall, this is a recipe that I’d be excited to make again. It’s 14 Weight Watchers ppv’s (you could get it under 10 by cutting down the cheese – it has a LOT of cheese!).

Leave a comment