Day 10: Salmon Burgers with Creme Fraiche Potato Salad

I really was so excited about this week’s Blue Apron menu. I love salmon and salmon burgers are right up my alley. It has been pretty hot this week, so today I took a different approach and did most of the prep work during my lunch break so that when we were ready for dinner I could just pop the burgers and the potatoes on the stove and have dinner ready quickly.

I had a little bit of trouble with this rccipe. I’ve made Salmon burgers before, but usually when I’ve made them, I’ve done them in a food processor while the salmon is still raw so that they hold together, and I’ve even used egg to help hold them together before. I was pretty skeptical of this because you cook the salmon first, flake it, and then basically squeeze out all of the water before you add the other ingredients and form patties. The patties, even when squashed together, seemed like they could fall apart at any second.

IMG_1472

If I were to make these again, I think I’d go with a tried & true technique of forming them raw. The flavoring of the whole dish was very good. The burgers had lemon zest (surprise!) and mint and breadcrumbs, and the capers in the creme fraiche potato salad gave it a nice zing. Overall, probably a 7 out of 10 recipe. If you’re counting Weight watchers points, you’re going to want to plan for this one as it’s 20ppv’s per serving.

Their version:

2P_033115_5_20R051215_20Salmon_20Burger_20Potato_20Salad-5285_splash_feature

My version:

IMG_1476

Leave a comment