Day 12: Sugar Snap Pea & Farro Salad

I’ve been really enjoying these interesting grain salads from Blue Apron, and this one was quite good. Cooking Farro (a grain) was quite easy – just boiled in salted water for about 15 minutes, similar to the way we cooked barley & lentils last week. After the normal prepping of the ingredients (which included smashing and de-pitting kalamata olives!) and getting the farro cooking, the first thing that I did was quick pickle the onions. After this, the snap peas were quickly cooked, and everything was added to a pot with the farro and mixed together.

I’m becoming an expert at zesting lemon.

I thought that this recipe was definitely enough for 2 people, though I think it was a little onion heavy. In fairness, I love pickled anything so I added ALL of the onion when the recipe called to add the onion to taste. I also enjoyed the mint, but this had a lot of mint. I’d maybe half the mint in the recipe if I made it again.

This recipe was pretty healthy- only 13 weight watchers ppv’s per serving. It’s great for a night where you want to make a quick meal on a hot day.

Their version: 

2P_040715_2

My version: 

image1

I think that mine looks even better than theirs does, don’t you?

Leave a comment